Every Team In MLS Has A Designated Player For The First Time

Written By:


Aug 16, 2013

Every Team In MLS Has A Designated Player For The First Time

Beckham DP

~~ It all started back in 2007 with the LA Galaxy signing David Beckham via the newly created Designated Player rule….. Since that game changing day, we’ve seen a couple of big names sign lucrative contracts with MLS  teams and more than a few above average players flair out in spectacular fashion.  But with the Colorado Rapids capturing the signature of Panamanian striker Gabriel Torres, every single team in Major League Soccer ‘currently’ has a DP on their roster.  Now we sit back and wait for the next team to sell / loan out an over-priced / under-performing name and the eyebrow raising explanations behind it.

via MLSSoccer

In the seventh season since the adoption of the “David Beckham” rule that today allows each team to sign up to three Designated Players, all 19 MLS clubs have at least one big-money player that earns his paycheck outside of the team salary budget of $2,950,000.

Currently, there are 33 DPs in the MLS ranks with the latest one coming on Thursday after the LA Galaxy’s signed US national team defender Omar Gonzalez to a DP contract. Americans are the second largest group of DPs (4), well behind the contingent from Argentina, where teams have penned eight of these star players.

Check out the Full DP List In MLS after the Jump………

LIST OF MLS DESIGNATED PLAYERS (as of August 15, 2013)

Chicago Fire (2): Juan Anangono (Ecuador), Egidio Arevalo Rios (Uruguay)

Chivas USA (2): Oswaldo Minda (Ecuador), Erick Torres (Mexico)

Columbus Crew (1): Federico Higuain (Argentina)

Colorado Rapids (1): Gabriel Torres (Panama)

FC Dallas (3): Mauro Diaz (Argentina), David Ferreira (Colombia), Fabian Castillo (Colombia)

D.C. United (1): Dwayne De Rosario (Canada)

Houston Dynamo (2): Oscar Boniek Garcia (Honduras), Alex Lopez (Honduras)

LA Galaxy (3): Robbie Keane (Republic of Ireland), Landon Donovan (USA), Omar Gonzalez (USA)

Montreal Impact (2): Hernan Bernardello (Argentina), Marco Di Vaio (Italy)

New England Revolution (1): Jerry Bengtson (Honduras)

New York Red Bulls (2): Tim Cahill (Australia), Thierry Henry (France)

Philadelphia Union (1): Kleberson (Brazil)

Portland Timbers (2): Diego Valeri (Argentina), Diego Chara (Colombia)

Real Salt Lake (2): Javier Morales (Argentina), Alvaro Saborio (Costa Rica)

Seattle Sounders (3): Mauro Rosales (Argentina), Obafemi Martins (Nigeria), Clint Dempsey (USA)

San Jose Earthquakes (1): Chris Wondolowski (USA)

Sporting Kansas City (1): Claudio Bieler (Argentina)

Toronto FC (2): Matias Laba (Argentina), Danny Koevermans (Netherlands)

Vancouver Whitecaps (1): Kenny Miller (Scotland)

Related News

LA Galaxy, adidas and Major League Soccer Collaborate with Parley for the Oceans
Schweinsteiger Asked If Chicago Fire Can Win World Cup

About Author

Leave a Comment

Leave A Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *